Instructor FAQ - Final Grades

How do you adjust final grades for all learners?

To adjust final grades for all learners:

  1. On the course home page, click Grades.
  2. In the Enter Grades area, from the Final Calculated Grade context menu, click Grade All .
  3. In the Final Adjusted Grade section for each learner, enter the adjusted grades and then click Save.
  4. Once you have ensured that users' grades are accurate, you can release them.

To adjust final grades for one or more specific learners:

  1. On the course home page, click Grades.
  2. In the Enter Grades area, from the Final Calculated Grade context menu, click Grade All .
  3. From the Final Grades context menu, click Transfer All, then click Yes.
  4. In the Final Adjusted Grade section, enter adjusted scores where necessary and click Save.
  5. Once you have ensured that users' grades are accurate, you can release them.

How do you release final grades?

If you did not select the Automatically release final grade option when you set up your grade book, you can release final grades to learners manually.

  1. On the navbar, click Grades.
  2. On the Enter Grades page, from the Final Calculated Grade or Final Adjusted Grade context menu, click Grade All.
  3. To release grades for all users, on the Final Grades page, from the Final Grades context menu, click Release All. To release final grades for a specific user, do one of the following:
    • Select the check box by the user name and click the Release/Unrelease link.
    • Select the check box in the Release Final Calculated Grade or Release Adjusted Final Grade column.
  4. Click Save.

The The final grade released icon Final grade is released icon displays in the Final Calculated Grade or Final Adjusted Grade column for any user who has their final grade released. The The final grade not released icon Final grade is not released icon displays in the Final Calculated Grade or Final Adjusted Grade column for any user who does not have their final grade released.

The date and time a grade is released or unreleased is displayed in a learner's Grades Event Log.

How do you undo the release of final grades?

You can easily undo the release of final grades to learners in your course using the Unrelease All option.

  1. On the navbar, click Grades.
  2. On the Enter Grades page, from the Final Calculated Grade or Final Adjusted Grade context menu, click Enter Grades.
  3. From the Final Grades drop-down menu, click Unrelease All. Click Yes.
  4. Click Save.

How do you release final grades automatically?

  1. On the navbar, click Grades.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. In the Calculation Options tab, select the Automatically release final grade option.
    Note: If you cannot select the Automatically release final grade option, contact your administrator and request that they grant you permission.
  4. If final grades will be released throughout the term, D2L recommends that in the Grade Calculations section, you select Drop ungraded items so that the released grades better reflect the learners' current grades.
  5. Click Save, and in the Confirmation dialog window, click Yes.
  6. Click Close to exit settings.

Why are final grades inaccurate?

The Final Grades page lists the calculated final grade for each user in your grade book. Final grades might be inaccurate if:

  • You did not select the Automatically keep final grades updated option when you set up your grade book.
  • There are grade items that you still need to enter grades for.
  • You selected Automatically release final grades but you didn't change your selection from Drop ungraded items to Treat ungraded items as 0 at the end of the course.
  • You are using formula grade items in a Points-based grading system. Formula grade items do not contribute to the final grade in a points-based or weighted-based grade book.