Copy, Delete, or Share a rubric

You can copy or delete an individual rubric criterion or the entire rubric and share rubrics with other courses.

Copying rubrics

Copying a rubric creates a new rubric based on an existing rubric in the same org unit, allowing you to easily reuse it in a course. The new rubric has the same properties, levels and criteria, and is shared with the same org units as the original rubric.

  1. On the navbar, click Rubrics.
  2. On the Rubrics page, from the context menu of the rubric you want to copy, click Copy.
  3. Click on the new rubric to edit it.

It is also possible to copy a single rubric criterion to facilitate reusing criteria that have already been created.

  1. Open the rubric you want to edit.
  2. On the Edit Rubrics page, click the action menu beside the criterion name.
  3. Click Copy Row.

    Note: The new criterion is added under the original with the criterion name Copy of [name of original criterion]. It is automatically highlighted so you can rename the new criterion.

  4. Rename the newly created criterion.

Delete a rubric

You can only delete a rubric in the org unit where it was created. You cannot delete a rubric that is being used by a Competencies activity or Brightspace ePortfolio item, or attached to a grade item.

  1. On the navbar, click Rubrics.
  2. On the Rubrics page, from the context menu of the rubric you want to delete, click Delete.

To delete a single criterion from a rubric

  1. Open the rubric you want to edit.
  2. On the Edit Rubrics page, click the action menu beside the criterion name.
  3. Click Delete Row.

Share a rubric

You can create rubrics at the organization, department, or course level. Rubrics are not automatically shared with all child org units below the org unit where they were created. You must explicitly share them if you want to make them available to child org units. Rubrics created at the course level cannot be shared with other courses, however, you can create a rubric in a course template and reuse it in course offerings for that course template.

If you are using Competencies to evaluate users, we recommend you set up rubrics before you set up your competencies, learning objectives, and activities since you cannot create an activity without associating it with a rubric and you cannot assess whether a user has completed a competency or learning objective without assessing the associated activities using the rubric.

  1. On the My Home page, on the navbar, click Rubrics.
  2. Click on the rubric you want to share with another org unit.
  3. In the Properties tab, in the Advanced Availability area, click Add Org Units.
  4. Select the org units where you want to share the rubric. If applicable, you can also select sharing options, including This org unit, All descendants, or All descendants of type.
  5. Click Insert.
  6. Click Save.