What happens when you delete a group or group category?

When you delete a group, the following things happen:

  • If you've selected the Auto-enroll new users option, users are automatically distributed in the remaining groups.
  • If groups are set up for manual enrollment, you must add users to the remaining groups using the Enroll Users page.
  • Group discussion forums remain available for reference. You can delete them in the Discussions tool.
  • Group locker areas and the files they contain are deleted.
  • group assignments and the files they contain are deleted.

When you delete a category, the following things happen:

  • Users are no longer enrolled in groups because they do not exist.
  • Group discussion forums remain available for reference. You can delete them in the Discussions tool.
  • Group Locker areas and the files they contain are deleted.
  • group assignments and the files they contain are deleted.