IPSIS logic

It is recommended that once an org unit, user, or enrollment is provisioned through IPSIS, any updates or delete requests continue through IPSIS instead of manually through Brightspace Learning Environment. If an org unit or enrollment is manually deleted from Brightspace Learning Environment, the logic in IPSIS for orphaned org units and enrollments is as follows:

  • When a delete request is sent for an org unit that no longer exists in Brightspace Learning Environment, the org unit mapping in IPSIS is deleted and does not result in an error in the IPSIS system log.
  • When an update request is sent for an org unit that no longer exists in Brightspace Learning Environment, the org unit mapping in IPSIS is deleted and does not result in an error in the IPSIS system log, and a new org unit is created.
  • When a delete request is sent for an org unit or an enrollment that no longer exists in Brightspace Learning Environment or IPSIS, the IPSIS system log displays a warning instead of an error.

This logic does not apply to users, if a user is deleted from Brightspace Learning Environment outside of IPSIS. The next time a request is sent for that user, an error is displayed in the IPSIS system log.